14 Best Gay Resorts: Who’s Welcome, What It Costs, and How to Choose

Two men relaxing by a resort pool under a title reading 14 Best Gay Resorts

Book the wrong gay resort and you learn three things at once. The door policy was not what you assumed. The rate on the website was not the rate at checkout. And the pool deck was not the scene you packed for.

This list of the best gay resorts runs 14 properties across Key West, Fort Lauderdale, Palm Springs, Puerto Vallarta, Gran Canaria, Port Douglas and Maine. Every entry answers the same three questions: who gets in, what a night costs once the fees land, and what arrival feels like from the front desk to the first hour by the pool.

Who gets in is not a formality. Men-only covers a range of practices, and a few properties publish a wider welcome in writing. Where one does, this list quotes it. Where one does not, it says so and tells you to ask.

What a night costs means more than the room. Breakfast, parking, resort fees, local tax and the extra-guest charge all move the number, so a rate that looks low can finish higher than one that looks high. Some entries carry a dated rate from a recent stay. Others carry a published starting band, and both are labeled.

The third filter is disclosure. Some properties publish a rate, an age policy and a clothing rule. Others publish almost nothing and keep the details in the booking engine. That absence matters before you fall for the photos, and no rate is invented here to fill a gap.

Start with the property that has set the standard since 1976.

1. Island House Key West: The 50-Year Benchmark for Gay Resorts

At 5 p.m. the bar fills. Every registered guest gets four free drinks until 6:30 p.m., and the poolside crowd arrives early enough to claim a stool. Fifty years in, the ritual still sets the pace.

Island House has been clothing optional for gay men since 1976 and marked its 50th anniversary in 2026. In the property’s own words, “the option is most definitely yours.” The gym is the only area that requires at least shoes and shorts.

Eleven room categories run from a Standard with a shared bath and a queen bed to a two-bedroom apartment and an Owner’s Suite. Rates assume double occupancy. An extra guest costs $50 a night; king rooms sleep three and multi-bed rooms or apartments sleep four.

Starting rates were around $369 a night in September 2026. Day passes cost $45 in cash or $55.25 by card, and the poolside restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner around the clock.

Two caveats belong next to the rate. A renovation closed the property from September 8 to 16, 2026, so check dates before planning a September trip. A stay-four-nights, get-three-free promotion is advertised, but its travel window ran from June 8 to October 15, 2026, and has closed. Ask what is running now.

This is the benchmark. Everything after it is measured against the free drinks, the 24-hour kitchen and the sense that something is happening at almost any hour.

2. Pineapple Point: Fort Lauderdale’s Quiet-Luxury Gay Resort

The same room costs about $130 more in February than it does in low season. The Deluxe King ran about $315 a night in low season and about $445 from February through March, both quoted in September 2026. Timing changes the bill more than the room category does.

What the rate buys is unusually broad. Expanded continental breakfast, snacks and lemonade through the day, cold face towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, sunscreen, bikes, Wi-Fi and parking all come with the stay. A dusk happy hour adds beer, wine, cheese and crackers. All of it is bundled into the rate.

The property sits on more than two acres in Victoria Park, with six buildings, a main pool, a lap pool, two hot tubs, a gym and a massage studio. It bills itself as “the most exquisite gay men’s guesthouse and resort in North America since 1999.” The grounds make the claim easy to believe.

Accessibility is the caveat. The ADA-compliant room is listed as “in progress,” so no completed accessible room is available today. Anyone who needs a step-free room should book elsewhere for now.

Best for couples who want quiet, included breakfast and a pool with room to swim. Skip it if you want a party, or if you need an accessible room this year.

3. Cabanas Guesthouse & Spa: Wilton Manors, With a Day Pass to Test First

Most published rates are starting bands. This one has a receipt. A Standard Queen booked in September 2026 came to $266 a night including taxes and fees, and the guest was upgraded to a waterfront Queen. That is the bill for that stay, not a floor price.

Day passes cost $30 on regular days and $40 on holidays. A pass is a cheap way to test a clothing-optional pool before committing to a room, a flight and a full week. Treat it as an audition for a property you might return to.

Two heated pools anchor the property, with a jacuzzi by the tiki bar, a full men’s day spa and complimentary continental breakfast. The setting is waterfront, and the mood is relaxed and friendly.

Wilton Manors is a cart ride or a walk from Wilton Drive, so it is not step-out convenient for the bars. The rooms are comfortable rather than luxurious. Book it for the pools and the price, not the rooms.

Compared with The Grand, this is the smaller, quieter option. The Grand has four pools and more energy. Cabanas has the cheaper day pass, and that is the tiebreaker for anyone unsure about the whole idea.

4. The Grand Resort: Four Pools and a Clothing Rule That Changes by Building

The clothing rule changes depending on which building you are in. That single fact matters more than the pool count.

The Grand is four interconnected properties: The Worthington, Alcazar, Villa Venice and The Grand itself. Together they share four pools, three hot tubs, a spa, a cafe, a bar and a newly renovated gym. Tropical pathways connect the buildings, so moving between pools is part of the stay.

Clothing is optional at Worthington, Alcazar and Villa Venice. It is no longer clothing optional at The Grand. Ask which building your room is in before you pay.

A renovated Alcazar Pool View Deluxe King ran about $350 a night on spring weekends in a May 2026 review. Entry-level rooms sit much lower, and suites and penthouses sit at the top. Day passes are usually about $35. Breakfast is included until 10:30, with hot items alongside pastries and fruit.

Location is the practical argument. The property is two blocks from the beach, about 15 minutes from Wilton Manors and minutes from Port Everglades, which makes it a sensible night before a cruise. The spa has no steam room or sauna yet.

Take a group, or book it the night before a cruise. If a sauna is part of the plan, or you want one clothing rule for the whole property, look elsewhere.

5. Descanso Resort: The Palm Springs Stay That Publishes Every Fee

The nightly rate is not the bill. Descanso publishes the rest of it, which makes the property easier to budget for than any other entry on this list.

A $24 daily resort fee covers the amenities, local government room tax adds 12.7%, and an extra guest costs $60 per person per night. All three numbers sit on the property’s own site. Only the room rate is unpublished.

The inclusions run long. Continental breakfast, a complimentary poolside lunch, a weekend “Wine O’Clock” happy hour, a cantina with free snacks and drinks, an arrival snack bag, Wi-Fi, bikes, parking and EV chargers. Lunch by the pool, the bikes and the parking are the inclusions that do the most work.

The pool and spa are swimsuit optional and open 24 hours, with no glass in the pool area and no noise or music after 10 p.m. Guests must be 18 or older. Rooms sleep two, or three in the suites with a king bed and daybed. Upper-level rooms are labeled as upper level, but the site does not address stairs or elevator access, so ask.

Against Santiago, the choice comes down to the bill. Descanso publishes its fees and leaves the room rate to the booking engine. Santiago includes two meals and quotes no rate in its July 2026 tour. Pick Descanso for a predictable bill and Santiago if you want most of it settled before you arrive.

6. Santiago Resort: Two Meals a Day in Palm Springs, Already Covered

Two meals a day are already covered. Breakfast is collected at the cantina, lunch is ordered from a restaurant menu and delivered poolside around 1 p.m., and free snacks and drinks sit in the cantina all day. A large pool and jacuzzi anchor the grounds.

The extras are the kind that decide a return trip. Staff hand out popsicles and ice cream, misters run around the loungers, and there is an outdoor shower, hammocks, a fire pit and an arrival gift bag. None of it is a headline amenity, and all of it changes how a pool afternoon feels.

A repeat guest in a July 2026 tour called it a 10 out of 10 and described it as peaceful and community-focused, a place where people do their own thing without outside pressure. That is the detail most first-timers need, because it describes the mood rather than the thread count. Breakfast and lunch delivered poolside also remove the daily decision of where to eat.

The gaps deserve stating plainly. No room rate appears in the July 2026 tour, so check the booking engine for your dates. The property has two floors, and the tour mentions no elevator, so anyone with mobility needs should call before booking.

For meals, it is the easiest Palm Springs stay to budget for, even before you know the room rate.

7. Twin Palms Resort: The Palm Springs Pick With a Pool Hoist

This is the only entry that documents a pool hoist. For a wheelchair user, that detail is worth more than every design photo on this list, because it is a commitment someone wrote down.

A booking listing for the property documents a pool hoist, wheelchair-accessible parking and van parking, a stair-free path to the entrance, and accessible paths of travel to the lounge, pool, public washroom and registration desk. Some rooms list a hand-held showerhead and a low-height desk.

It also carries caveats that belong in the open. Accessibility “may have limitations.” The property confirms no dedicated accessible room type. No elevators are listed. A guest who needs a confirmed accessible room should treat those as open questions, not fine print.

Accessibility listings are only as good as their detail. A pool hoist tells you the property has thought about the pool deck. It does not tell you the door width, the shower threshold or the route from the parking space after dark. Put those questions in an email and keep the reply with your booking.

The listing carries no rates and no age policy.

Best for a traveler who needs a documented step-free route and a pool hoist. Skip it if you need a confirmed accessible room category, and call the property before booking online.

8. CCBC Resort Hotel: 21-and-Over and Substance-Free in Cathedral City

The door rules come first here. Guests must be 21 or older. The property describes itself as substance-abuse-free. A valid physical government-issued photo ID is required, digital IDs are not accepted, and management reserves the right to refuse service.

Those rules answer the first question a guest asks: who this place is for. It is built for adults who want a late-night, pass-driven scene and a clear set of house rules.

Online pre-registration speeds up check-in, which matters on a late arrival. Facilities include a steam room, a pool, two spas, a waterfall, a full-service bar and restaurant and a separate Runway Bar. Events include Wild Wednesdays.

Resort passes are sold, and pass guests follow a clear bag policy. The pass system lets you visit for a day before booking a room. Food and drink are on site, so a late night does not require a drive.

The property sits in Cathedral City, a short drive from Palm Springs. No nightly rate is listed on the pass page, so check the booking engine for your dates.

If you want a late-night, adults-only scene with a steam room, book here and skip the quiet properties. If you want a sauna and a 9 p.m. bedtime, this is the wrong door.

9. Almar Resort: Puerto Vallarta Views and Rates You Can See

The rates are on the website, which is rare in this category. Published “from” prices run USD 110 for a Standard Suite, USD 127 for a Deluxe Suite with a partial ocean view, USD 168 for an ocean-view Junior Suite, USD 208 for a Mantamar Front Row Ocean View room and USD 238 for the Grand Almar Hydrobath and Terrace.

Read those as a floor, not a quote. They carry no dates and no inclusions, so budget food separately. The top category costs more than double the entry rate, a spread of USD 128 a night.

Almar describes itself as adults-only but does not state a minimum age. Neither a clothing-optional policy nor a minimum stay is published, so do not assume either. That distinction matters in Puerto Vallarta, where gay resort and clothing optional are not the same phrase.

There are 13 room categories, from Run of the House to the Romance Suite, and the Mantamar Beach Club anchors the beach side.

Compared with Casa Cupula, this is the bigger property with visible rates and a beach club. Casa Cupula is the small boutique with a swim-optional pool and no published rates. Choose Almar if the beach and a known starting price matter most.

10. Casa Cupula: Puerto Vallarta’s Swim-Optional Pool Club

“Everyone is Welcome” is printed, not implied. That line, plus a pool club with no swimsuit requirement, is the whole case for Casa Cupula.

The Pool Club bills itself as “Puerto Vallarta’s only swim-suit optional Pool Club.” The site states “Everyone is Welcome,” and pets are welcome too. For a mixed group or a couple traveling with friends of different genders, a written welcome is worth more than a friendly tone in a photo caption.

Casa Cupula is gay-owned and has been part of the local scene long enough to be an institution rather than a newcomer. That history is why the welcome reads as policy rather than marketing.

There is a third-night-free offer for travel September 1 to November 25 when booked by October 31. Confirm the year before you count on it. Direct bookings add early check-in, a welcome gift, free Wi-Fi and VIP rewards.

Three things stay unpublished. No room rates appear on the site, the adults-only age is not stated, and no minimum stay is listed. Treat all three as questions for the property, and get the answer in writing before you pay.

Book it when a swim-optional pool and a stated welcome matter more than a published rate.

11. Seven Hotel & Wellness: 24 Rooms for Men Only in Maspalomas

Twenty-four rooms, and a front desk that closes at 5 p.m. Both numbers shape the trip.

This is a men-only property with a minimum age of 18 and no children permitted. Check-in runs 1 to 8 p.m. and checkout 9 to 11 a.m. The front desk is staffed 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., so a late flight needs arranging in advance, not on arrival. Continental breakfast runs 8:30 to 10:30 a.m.

The facilities are compact and complete: an outdoor heated saltwater pool, a sauna, a massage room, a fitness room, a restaurant and a bar. A free beach shuttle covers the beach run, which keeps the car question simple, and a paid airport shuttle handles the transfer. Give the property your flight details when you reserve, so the transfer and the 8 p.m. check-in cutoff line up.

Two gaps matter. The property publishes no accessibility information, and it shows no nightly rate for specific dates on its booking listing. Neither gap is a reason to skip it, but both are reasons to call. Pets are not permitted either, so arrange care before you book.

It suits a small, quiet Maspalomas base with a sauna and a pool. It does not suit a late arrival after 8 p.m. without a plan, or anyone who needs documented accessibility.

12. Aqua Beach Bungalows: 25 Men-Only Bungalows Opposite the Yumbo Centre

Twenty-five bungalows sit across the road from the Yumbo Centre, and the booking terms read like a contract. Read them before you pay.

The property is men-only, clothing optional, and peaceful despite sitting directly opposite the Yumbo Centre. The room mix fits groups: bungalows with one or two bedrooms, a loft suite for one to three guests, and a villa that sleeps up to ten.

There is a chemical-free heated saltwater pool, a magnesium-salt jacuzzi, a fitness studio and a pool bar and bistro. Towels arrive three times a week, Wi-Fi is free, and a paid airport transfer books at reservation. The airport is 25 minutes away.

The terms are the part to read twice. The flex rate takes 40% at booking and the remaining 60% six weeks before arrival. Refunds run 90% over 43 days out, 70% at 43 to 31 days, 50% at 30 to 22 days, 20% at 21 to 16 days, and nothing within 15 days or on a no-show.

The day before arrival counts as zero days. Moving an arrival date more than six weeks ahead costs an €85 admin fee. Inside six weeks, a date change is a cancellation. Guests must be 18 or older, and the terms took effect November 3, 2025, so re-check them before paying.

Book the flex rate, put the 43-day mark in your calendar, and do not book this one on impulse.

13. Turtle Cove: Port Douglas, Australia’s Clothing-Optional Beach

A private clothing-optional beach and a policy that names who it admits. That combination is rare enough to carry a long flight.

Turtle Cove has 30 rooms in different styles, is adults only, and opens onto its own clothing-optional beach. The pool and spa never close. There is a gym, a health spa, a library and a games room, and the property books reef, Daintree and sailing tours. The clothing-optional beach is the center of the day here.

It has supported its communities since 1993 and positions itself for “ALL Respectful Adults, including Minority Groups.” That is the policy in the property’s own words, and it is broader than most of this list.

The setup is BYO for food and drink, and the property asks guests to cover up in shared cooking areas for food-safety reasons. Both rules are easy to follow and worth knowing before you pack. For a group spread across several rooms, the shared kitchen and the games room give the trip a center beyond the pool.

No numerical adults-only age is published, and no nightly rate appears on the homepage. Port Douglas is remote enough that the transfer is part of the trip, not an afterthought.

The long-haul pick for a group that wants a clothing-optional beach without a men-only door policy.

14. Twin Ponds Lodge: Maine’s Men-Only Club That Says Who It Admits

This is the only entry that answers the trans question in writing. That alone earns it the last slot. Most properties say nothing, which leaves the question to a phone call and a hope.

Twin Ponds is a private men-only clothing-optional lodge and campground. Its membership is open to all men, cis or trans, with ID proving the guest is over 18. Membership costs $40 a year and is required at first check-in.

Day passes cost $45 on Friday, Saturday and holidays, or $35 Sunday to Thursday. Overnight stays include the day pass. The campground side means tent sites as well as rooms, and both reward booking ahead.

The first-timer rules are unusually clear: “there’s zero expectation to undress,” “no photos without consent,” and activities are optional with “no pressure, ever.” Guest information stays confidential, and a tour follows check-in before you settle in. A lodge that writes those lines down has thought about who arrives nervous, and why.

One practical catch: no one can explore the property without joining, because it is a private club. Pre-sign the membership agreement online, and book overnight stays and tent sites ahead. Membership is the front door, not an upsell. Membership runs a year, so a second visit in the same year does not require joining again.

This is the right first booking for a trans man, and for anyone who wants the rules written down before arrival.

Frequently Asked Questions About Gay Resorts

Do I have to be naked at a gay resort?

No. Clothing-optional means the choice stays yours all day, not just at the pool. Twin Ponds states “there’s zero expectation to undress,” and Island House puts it as “the option is most definitely yours.” Practical exceptions exist: Island House requires at least shoes and shorts in the gym, and Turtle Cove asks guests to cover up in shared cooking areas for food safety. Bring a towel, sit where you like, and take your time.

Are women, lesbian couples and mixed groups welcome?

At most men-only properties, no, so read the house rules before booking. Casa Cupula states “Everyone is Welcome,” and Turtle Cove admits “ALL Respectful Adults, including Minority Groups.” In Palm Springs, The Muse is an adults-only boutique hotel that is not clothing optional, and it notes that a gay couple, a lesbian birthday crew and a straight bachelorette share the same pool. Whole-property buyouts there sleep up to 22, which suits a group that wants the pool to itself. Call before booking anywhere unclear.

Are trans men welcome at men-only resorts?

It depends, and many properties publish nothing. Twin Ponds states that its membership is open to all men, cis or trans, with ID proving the guest is over 18. Where a property publishes no policy, do not assume either way. Ask in writing, ask what ID the door requires, and keep the reply; a short question is easier for a small property to answer than a phone call at check-in.

What are the rules about sex, consent and saying no?

Separate nudity from sex. At Magnetic Valley, sexual activity is not permitted in public spaces, and guests are expected to be respectful and mature about the difference. At Island House, the red room is optional and relaxed rather than pressured, and Twin Ponds says activities are optional with “no pressure, ever.” A no needs no explanation, and a well-run property backs you up when you give one. If no rule is published, ask where the line sits and choose a place that answers plainly.

Can I take photos or use my phone by the pool?

Not of other guests without consent. Twin Ponds states “no photos without consent” and keeps guest information confidential. Treat the pool deck as phone-free unless the property says otherwise, and ask before including anyone in a frame. Silence is not permission, and the rule protects you as much as the person beside you.

What is included, what gets added, and who can book?

Read the fee list, not just the rate: Descanso adds a $24 daily resort fee, 12.7% room tax and $60 per extra person per night, and takes one night in advance. Age rules vary: 18 and over at Descanso and Seven, 21 and over at CCBC with a physical government ID. Payment schedules vary too: Aqua takes 40% at booking and the balance six weeks out. The resort fee covers amenities, so the tax and the extra-person rate are the lines to watch.

When is it cheapest, and how far ahead should I book?

Rates at the best gay resorts swing hardest in peak season. Pineapple Point’s Deluxe King falls from about $445 in February and March to about $315 in low season. Avoid New Year’s, major event weekends and the February-March peak, and check dated closures such as Island House’s September 8 to 16, 2026 renovation. Book well ahead for peak weekends and pool-party dates, and read minimum-stay and cancellation terms before paying; where they are steep, price the flexible rate first.